IAHSS International Association for Healthcare Security & Safety
Search IAHSS:
Member Log In Contact Us Visit IAHSS On Facebook  
Flash Not Available

The Program of Distinction recognizes healthcare security and safety departments within healthcare facilities that have achieved and maintained a minimum percentage of IAHSS certified security personnel. The criterion focuses on the competencies of the facility's security and safety officers and director as measured through individual certification.

Individual certification of officers and directors is granted to those who have successfully passed one of several certifications examinations offered by IAHSS. Certified personnel must maintain active certification either through renewal of their IAHSS certifications every five years at their current level or progress to the next level. On a three year cycle, directors must maintain an active CHPA status through the IAHSS by continually seeking to enhance their competence both through continuing education and research leading to publication of significant materials to enhance the learning of others.

Department of Distinction Awards
Year Facility Location
2009 Sarasota Memorial Hospital Sarasota FL
2010 Brampton Civic Hospital Brampton ON
2010 University of Kansas Medical Center Kansas City KS
2007 Tampa General Healthcare Tampa FL
2010 Scripps Mercy Hospital San Diego CA
2010 UNC Hospital Chapel Hill NC
2010 St. Lukes Health & Hospital Bethlehem PA
2010 Kings Daughters Ashland KY
2012 Greater Winston-Salem Market Novant Health Winston-Salem NC
2012 Carteret General Hospital Morehead City NC
2012 Hardin Memorial Hospital Elizabethtown KY
2012 Cleveland Clinic Florida Weston FL
2013 Scripps Mercy Hospital Chula Vista CA
2013 Orange Park Medical Center Orange Park FL
2013 Baptist Hospital Easley Easley SC
2013 Newton Wellesley Hospital Newton MA
2013 Brockville General Hospital Brockville ON
2013 Kingston Hospitals, Protection Services Kingston ON
2013 Lennox & Addington County Hospital Napanee ON
2013 Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre Ottawa ON
2013 Quinte Health Corporation Belleville ON
2014 Florida Hospitals Orlando FL
2014 Health Alliance Hospital Leominister MA
2014 Carolinas Medical Center Lincoln Lincolnton NC
2014 Parkview Health Fort Wayne IN
2014 Seattle Cancer Care Alliance Seattle WA
2014 Novant Health Charlotte NC
2014 Greenville Health System Greenville SC
2014 Health Sciences North Sudbury ON
2014 Chatham-Kent Health Alliance Chatham ON
2014 St. Mary Medical Center Langehorne PA
2014 Lakeridge Health Oshawa ON
2014 St. Joseph's Hospital Tampa FL
2014 Essentia Health-East Region Duluth, MN
2014 Mayo Clinic Health System Eau Claire, WI
2014 Children's Healthcare of Atlanta-Scottish Rite Atlanta, GA